Grandma Ibby’s Apple Dumplings

My Grandma Ibby, age 22 circa 1942.

My Grandma Ibby, age 22 circa 1942.

Apple dumplings are traditionally a wedge of apple sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar and wrapped in a biscuit type dough which is then baked in a rich simple syrup that does magical things in the oven. My grandmother’s dumplings are unique in that the apples are diced and the dough is rolled up and sliced in cinnamon roll fashion. I truly can think of no way to describe to you how special these perfect apple dumplings are. You simply have to try them and judge for yourself. When you have regained your faculties and are once again able to communicate, I would love to know how you liked them.

Grandma Ibby’s Apple Dumplings

Dumpling Ingredients

  • 1 Cup Sour Cream
  • 1/2 Cup Whole Milk or Half and Half
  • 1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp. Table Salt
  • 2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 2 Cups Flour
  • 1/4 Cup Sugar
  • 3 Granny Smith Apples, peeled, cored and diced
  • 1 tsp. Cinnamon

Dumpling Syrup

  • 1 Cup Granulated Sugar
  • 3/4 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. Flour
  • 1 Cup Boiling Water
  • 2 Tbsp. Butter

AD-5

Directions

Dice apples into small pieces so they are easy to roll up in the dough. Toss with 1 tsp. Cinnamon and set aside.

AD-4

In a large bowl, combine the sour cream and milk and whisk until well blended and smooth. Add in the baking soda and salt and mix well. Sift together and add the baking powder, flour and sugar.

AD-1

Mix until combined and dough just starts to come together, do not over work the dough. Dough will be sticky. Place the dough on a floured surface and roll into a rectangular shape about 1/2 to 3/4 inch thick.

AD-8

AD-9

Cover with the cinnamon apples.

AD-10

Carefully roll like you would for a jelly roll or cinnamon rolls. Flour your hands and be gentle with the delicate dough.

AD-11

Cut into 1 inch slices and place in a buttered baking dish.

AD-13

I ended up with 11 but probably should have gotten 12. Oh well, bigger dumplings.

Dumpling Syrup …

Combine the granulated and brown sugars and 2 tablespoons of flour and to the mixture, add 1 cup of boiling water and 2 tablespoons of butter, diced.

AD-6

Mix until sugar is dissolved and butter has melted.

AD-7

Pour syrup over dumplings.

AD-14

AD-15

Bake at 375 degrees for 35 to 40 minutes, until dumplings are golden brown and bubbly.

AD-16

When serving, be sure to drizzle a little syrup from the baking dish over each dumpling.

AD-17

Amazing is one of the most over used descriptive words in the writing world.

These apple dumplings are A – M – A – Z – I – N – G!

AD-18

It is okay to lick the plate. I won’t tell.

12 thoughts on “Grandma Ibby’s Apple Dumplings

  1. Mom

    These are going on my Fat Tuesday menu…of course I may need to practice making them a couple of times before then 🙂 These look like heaven,,I will send a photo of mine

    Reply
  2. Rhonda Sittig

    These look incredible! I’ve never seen dumplings rolled up like that– but want to give this a try! And I love the beautiful photo of your grandmother– and the one of the empty plate at the end. That made me laugh… Thanks for the great post.

    Reply
    1. Welcome Company with Danielle Post author

      Thanks Rhonda! I have never seen a dumpling rolled like a cinnamon roll either. I think they still qualify for dumpling status because of the biscuit like dough. 🙂 They really are something special and I hope you do try them. Be sure to let me know what you think; your recipes are so wonderful and I value your thoughts!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Family Dinner Favorite: Barefoot Contessa’s Lentil Sausage Soup | Welcome Company

  4. Pingback: Pumpkin Bread and Other Things I LOVE About Fall | Welcome Company

I am so glad you have visited and would love to hear from you. Please leave a comment, your thoughts and feedback are important to me.

