Meet The Company I Keep; “The Main Cast of Characters”

I went a little out-of-order the other day when I told you how my husband and I became parents before I even told you much about said husband and children. I will be talking about them a lot as I continue to blog and I would love for you to know a little bit more about them. Next to the Lord Almighty Himself, they are the center of my universe and the reasons why I do pretty much everything I do. I am a very blessed and thankful wife and mom and here are the reasons why …

The Brew Crew

Gary or “Brewdog” (I do not call him that but I will explain it later) is my husband of 16 years (It will be 17 in January) but we have been together for 19. He is a family man who has his priorities straight. As the godly head of our home, he leads our family with love, compassion and his whole heart. He is kind and funny, strong and steady and seems to have infinite patience, all qualities I am quite sure God gave him when He made him for me – He KNEW that he was going to need them!

Never give up. Never surrender.

He’s a great dad and is the biggest reason our two older kids are overcoming their trauma as well as they are. He makes them feel safe. They know they are loved and protected and that any harm coming to them will have to come through daddy.

“Small boys become big men through the influence of big men who care about small boys.” – unknown

Why Brewdog? Gary is a full-time pilot and leader in the Arizona Air National Guard, which we think is pretty cool. Military aircrew are often called “crewdogs”, his last name is BREWer which translates to Brewdog. Get it? Deep, I know. Don’t let the nickname fool you, he is all business about work and is a man of honor and integrity who cares deeply for the men and women he serves with and for their mission. I am so proud to be a military wife and of the servant’s heart God has given my husband.

Proud to Serve

I am a pretty pragmatic person and not much of a romantic so I can’t really say something like “he completes me” or “he had me at hello” or “he is the wind beneath my wings” and keep a straight face (or my lunch down) but the truth is, he does, he did and he is. Sorry, I know, too much.

Moving on, lets meet the ten and under crowd …

All three of our kids are epic forces of nature with strong personalities, strong opinions and iron-strong wills – persistent, insistent and resistant. I have come to the conclusion that when God knows a child will face extra difficulty or challenge in life, He gives them a little bit of extra spunk for good measure. In our case, anyway, there is not an easy-going, laid back  baby in the bunch and I wouldn’t change them for anything. They are who God made them to be. He has given them personalities that are perfectly suited to the calling He will place on them. Personalities that have fought hard to overcome all that they have already faced in their young lives. They are indeed fighters and I am equal parts amazed, enriched and exhausted by them. Each has been placed in my life to teach me something unique, to push me further and make me better; a better mother and a better person.

Sara

“Courage, sacrifice, determination, commitment, toughness, heart, talent, guts. That’s what little girls are made of; the heck with sugar and spice.” – Bethany Hamilton

Our oldest, Sara, will be 11 soon but seems to already be a teenager. She is a future Tony Award winner (I am just sure of it) with a flair for the dramatic, a larger than life personality and a booming voice that was made for the stage (the girl can project). She is sassy and spirited, adventurous and brave (we have yet to find a roller coaster that is too fast, too high or too anything for her). She is a smart girl but walks to the beat of her own drummer and has a little trouble staying grounded and in the here and now; the dreamiest of daydreamers. I love that from the time she was little, she would watch any old movie with me, beginning to end, especially if there was singing and dancing. She challenges me to the core (dreamy and pragmatic do not always see eye to eye) and is my lesson in understanding and accepting differences in having compassion and learning to slow my pace to meet her where she is. Speaking of where she is, recently she informed me that she has a crush on Johnnie Depp – so, hooray, it looks like we are in for a new season of growth. Sighhhhh.

David

“As soon as I saw you, I knew an adventure was going to happen.” – Pooh

David is our middle guy and I adore him. He is crazy smart, has a lightning sharp wit and a wicked sense of humor. He is an impossible smart-alleck who keeps me on my toes because he doesn’t miss ANYTHING. On top of not missing anything, he is also quite adept at putting to use, that which he does not miss. Translated, be careful what you say because it will come back to haunt you, probably at the worst possible time. For now, I manage to stay one step ahead of him – mostly. He is a very analytical, logical thinker who will no doubt be either an architect or a lawyer as he also has quite the gift for argument, rebuttal and negotiation – skills he practices and hones on a daily basis. He is constantly “testing the fence” and is my lesson in patience and resolve. He is a sharp dresser with a style all his own and an easy charm that draws everyone in. He is loving, affectionate and a great helper. He cooks and gardens with me all the while regaling me with facts about snakes and Lego mini-figures. Speaking of Legos, we have 1,872,468 of them and I have stepped on every – single – one! Ninjas, Star Wars, knights, swords, video games and all things “Animal Planet” round out his list of favorites. Keep an eye out for posts entitled “The Stuff David Says” – I promise you, you will not want to miss what this kid has to say.

Nathan

“There’s this boy who stole my heart, he calls me mom.”

Nathan is my dreamy little brown-eyed baby boy (incidentally, he has noticed that he is the only one in the family who has brown eyes but is okay with it because “Gracie (the dog) has brown eyes too”. He is feisty, stubborn and charming and knows just how to get to his mama with a flash of his dimples or a hug around the neck followed by a whisper in my ear of “mommy, you my besss fren” (best friend). At just 5 years old, he is a 60+ pound 4+ foot tall future NFL linebacker who has speed and size and knows how to use them – which is not always appreciated in the pre-school classroom. He has been a “runner” from the moment he found his legs at 10 months of age and turned me into “that mom” – you know the one who puts her kid on a leash at Disneyland. Don’t judge if you’ve never had a runner. I can not fill him up or slow him down or get him to take a bath without a fight but he always makes me laugh and gives me more joy than I can find words to express. He has filled my world with CARS, Skylanders, miles and miles of train tracks and millions of sticky kisses and big bear hugs. This child has my heart and I will never get it back.

Well actually, they all do.

No, I have never carried a baby in my “tummy” or experienced the miracle of birth. But that doesn’t mean I haven’t experienced a miracle, or two or three. I am a mom, made so by God in a very unique and amazing way. In fact, I’m not just a mom, I am the luckiest mom in the whole world!

Another snuggle from my sweet boy.

8 thoughts on “Meet The Company I Keep; “The Main Cast of Characters”

  1. fawn

    Girl, you were born to write….it’s just delightful to read your life in print. Thank you for sharing your love and experiences with us. It makes me laugh and cry and think. Keep up the good work!

    Reply
    1. Welcome Company with Danielle Post author

      Thanks Fawn! It feels especially good to get it all down so the kids have something to look back on, us too. I am glad other people seem to be enjoying it too! Thank you for reading. Can’t wait to catch up with you!

      Reply
    1. Welcome Company with Danielle Post author

      Thanks Andrea and thank you for stopping by my blog, I’m so glad you did. I am very blessed with the family God has given me, being a mom isn’t always easy but it is always worth it! Your blog is wonderful, it is so obvious how much you love the Lord and how open your heart is to sharing that love! I look forward to reading more!!

      Reply

I am so glad you have visited and would love to hear from you. Please leave a comment, your thoughts and feedback are important to me.

