What Comes Next?

Focusing on a lot

Parties and entertaining, food and recipies, decorating, gardening, remodeling, Pinterest projects, family, motherhood, special needs parenting, foster care, adoption, friends, faith, charity, favorite things … (deep breath)whew!

How in the world does it all tie together cohesively? Where is the focus? I’ve done my first post, I have so many ideas, what comes next? Why didn’t I just do a blog about my passion for lifestyle and entertaining? Or a blog about my calling for adoption, motherhood and raising children with special needs? And why did I start my blog on fall break when ALL of my kids are home from school ALL – DAY – LONG?

I’ve thought about this a lot over the last couple of days (and late nights). I have formulated and reformulated. Planned and re-planned. And I have come to this conclusion. This is who I am (all of it) and I want nothing more than to be authentic and real. Each of these “categories” is an important part of my life (yes, even Pinterest – I mean really, have you seen it?) and are all parts of the sum of who God made me to be. The good news is, there is a common thread here. God has given me the gift of reaching out and creating community. The gift of hospitality and the desire to welcome, encourage and connect with people and that gifting is woven through every facet of my life.

So simply put, here are the 5 basic reasons Welcome Company encompases what it does:

  1. I can’t narrow or limit my focus  – it is not in my nature.
  2. I am not a professional, I am currently a HOME-maker and wear the label and experience proudly.
  3. My kids are just too funny not to talk about all the time!
  4. The biggest part of Welcoming Company and creating community is opening up and sharing your life with others. This is my life, all 1,476 categories of it (see, I did narrow it down.)
  5. God has written a pretty amazing story for us so far and in sharing it, my greatest hope is that He will be glorified and you will be encouraged – how could I leave anything out?

You know, now that I think about it, scratch number one. It isn’t really that I can’t focus, I just focus on A LOT! Now the fall break thing, that’s just how I roll.

2 thoughts on “What Comes Next?

  1. Amy Wilson

    How delighted was I to stumble upon your Blog. I started reading a few of them before I discovered that your lovely husband was a classmate & friend growing up. The man, the father and husband he has become is no surprise to me. I greatly enjoy reading all of your entries and learning more about Gary’s family. God Bless you all!

    Reply
    1. Welcome Company with Danielle Post author

      So glad you found it Amy and thank you for your sweet comment. So funny that you went to high school with Gary. He’s a pretty special guy – although he has a lot less hair now than you might remember. From what he tells me, it was pretty long in high school. Come back anytime!

      Reply

I am so glad you have visited and would love to hear from you. Please leave a comment, your thoughts and feedback are important to me.

